
I can’t log in. 

Your username is not the same as your email address. Your username is your first name and last 

name with a period (“.”) between your first and last name. Some usernames will have a number 

after the last name. Numbers occur when more than one person has the same first and last 

names. It is important for you to note whether you have a number at the end of your username. 

I would like to become EMP-certified. 

You must attend an EMP class to become certified. Classes are available at no cost at various 

locations throughout Vermont. You can go to http://leadsafevermont.org/ to see a list of 

upcoming classes, or call 1-800-439-8550 for information. 

I don’t remember my EMP certificate number. 

Call 1-800-439-8550 if you need your EMP certificate number. 

I am unable to take the course before my compliance statement is due. 

You may hire a contractor to complete the Essential Maintenance Practices. The Health 

Department does not maintain a public list of contractors, but you may email 

empcompliance@vermont.gov or call 1-800-439-8550 for contractor information in your area. 

I would like to request an exemption from filing. 

To be exempt from Vermont Essential Maintenance Practices, your building must have an 
extensive, surface-by-surface inspection that indicates no lead paint is present. This inspection 
must be performed by a Vermont-certified Lead Inspector or Risk Assessor [link to: 
http://www.healthvermont.gov/sites/default/files/documents/pdf/ENV_AL_lead_consult_contr
actor_list.pdf]. The inspector’s report must be sent to the Department of Health with a request 
to be exempted from Compliance Statement filing requirements. 

I am not the property owner but I would like to file a compliance statement. 

Only an owner, property manager, or child care operator can file the Compliance Statement on 

a residential rental property or child care. EMP contractors who complete the inspection and 

work should not be filing your compliance statement unless they are also a property manager. 

I don’t know when I need to file my compliance statement. 

Compliance Statements must be filed at least once every 365 days for each pre-1978 residential 

rental property or child care facility. If your rental is currently vacant or if you are not operating 

a childcare, you are not required to submit a compliance statement until the property is in 

active rental or childcare status. 

I can’t file my compliance statements on the exact due date. 

Compliance statements can only be filed early. Example: If you filed a Compliance Statement on 

January 15, 2017 the next Compliance Statement is due before January 15, 2018. If you file 

early—e.g., January 1, 2018—the next Compliance Statement will be due within 365 days of the 

new filing date, e.g., January 1, 2019. You cannot change your due date otherwise. 
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I can’t complete my compliance statement by the due date. 

You can be fined $50 for submitting a Compliance Statement within 30 days after the due date. 

For filing later than 30 days after the due date, you can be fined $150. If you need more time to 

complete the work, write to empcompliance@vermont.gov or call 1-800-439-8550 to extend 

your due date. We do not grant extensions for reasons other than work related to EMP 

completion.  

 

I need an extension to complete the work. 

You may send a written request for an extension to the Department of Health no later than 10 

days before the due date. The Department may grant or deny an extension. Request an 

extension by sending an email to: empcompliance@vermont.gov. 
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