2016 Homestead Declaration and Property Tax Adjustment Claim
Filing online is EASY, QUICK, and FREE!
2016 Vermont Homestead Declaration Form HS-122 Section A
This form must be filed each year by every
Vermont resident whose property meets the definition of a homestead. A Vermont homestead is the principal
dwelling and parcel of land surrounding the dwelling, owned and occupied by a resident individual as the
individual's domicile as of on April 1. If your homestead is leased to a tenant on April 1, you may still
claim it as a homestead if it is not leased for more than 182 days in the 2016 calendar year.
Grand list classification does not change after October 17, 2016.
2016 Property Tax Adjustment Claim Form HS-122 Section B
APRIL 18, 2016
Penalties apply if filed after
Property Tax Adjustment
claims will be accepted
through Oct. 17.
Eligible Homestead owners must annually file a claim to receive an adjustment to property tax.
An adjustment is not available to households whose income is $137,500 or more.
Adjustment claims cannot be accepted after October 17, 2016.
You may be eligible for an adjustment if:
- You have filed a valid Vermont Homestead;
- You were a Vermont resident all of calendar 2015; and
- You are not claimed as a dependent of another taxpayer for tax year 2015.
Documents you will need to file:
- Copy of 2015/2016 property tax bill
- Income information for you, your spouse/civil union partner, and all other members of the household such as W-2, 1099, SSA-1099, SSA-1042S, RRB-1099, RRB-1045, business income information