Search Rules

Deadline For Public Comment

Deadline: Sep 20, 2011

The deadline for public comment has expired. Contact the agency or primary contact person listed below for assistance.

Rule Details

Rule Number: 11P026
Title: Rules Governing Ignition Interlock Program.
Type: Standard
Status: Adopted
Agency: Department of Motor Vehicles, Agency of Transportation
Legal Authority: 23 V.S.A. 1200, 1205, 1206, 1208, 1209a, 1213 and 1216
Summary: In 2010, the General Assembly enacted legislation to allow persons whose licenses to operate motor vehicles had been suspended for alcohol offenses to regain driving privileges conditioned upon the installation of an ignition interlock device in each vehicle that he or she planned to operate. The person must serve a portion of the suspension and have the device installed before a restricted license is available. As part of the starting procedure for the vehicle, an ignition interlock device requires a breath sample of the driver to be furnished. The device measures the alcohol concentration of the sample. If the breath alcohol concentration is 0.02 or greater, the vehicle is prevented from starting. Once underway, additional tests are required on a recurring, random basis. The purpose of the rule is implement the legislation to create the program. It establishes performance standards for devices, requirements for installers and conditions for participants.
Persons Affected: Vermont drivers whose licenses are suspended as a result of driving under the influence of alcohol, Department of Motor Vehicles, Department of Corrections, Law Enforcement, Ignition Interlock Device Manufacturers and Installers.
Economic Impact: A participant in the program will be required to bear the cost of the installation and the monthly service visits to the installer. These costs will be determined by the market place. They have been estimated to be in the upper end of the range of $90.00 - $125.00 per month. The Department of Motor Vehicles will need to devote a currently undetermined level of human resources to program oversight. Also, the program will require multiple changes to the DMV computer system. Exact costs for programming changes are yet to be determined.
Posting date: Jul 27,2011

Hearing Information

Information for Hearing # 1
Hearing date:
09-12-2011 1:00 PM   
Location: Dept. of Motor Vehicles, 3rd Floor Conference Room
Address: 120 State Street
City: Montpelier
State: VT
Zip: 05603-0001
Hearing Notes:

Contact Information

Information for Contact # 1
Level: Primary    
Name: Michael Smith, Agency of Transportation    
Agency: Department of Motor Vehicles, Agency of Transportation    
Address: 120 State Street    
City: Montpelier    
State: VT    
Zip: 05603-0001    
Telephone: 802-828-2066    
Fax: 802-828-2170    
Email: 
michael.smith@state.vt.us
     
 
   
Website Address:  http://dmv.vermont.gov/dmv_info/rules
     
 
   
Information for Contact # 2
Level: Secondary    
Name: Joanne Bilodeau, DMV Project Specialist    
Agency: Department of Motor Vehicles, Agency of Transportation    
Address: 120 State Street    
City: Montpelier    
State: VT    
Zip: 05603-0001    
Telephone: 802-828-3093    
Fax: 802-828-2826    
Email: 
joanne.bilodeau@state.vt.us
     
 
   
       

Keyword Information

Keywords:

Ignition Interlock Device
Restricted Driver's License
Driving Under the Influence
License Suspension
A Vermont Government Website   Copyright 2022 State of Vermont
 
v 1.0.2